JP3D!

Very soon  we will all have an opportunity to watch a great film from days of yore in 3D.  On April 5, 2013, a remastered IMAX 3D version of the 1993 film Jurassic Park will be released in theaters.  This is amazeballs for several reasons, and it’s less than a month away!

The first reason that I’m simply gushing with excitement is that when the Dilophosaurus spits its toxic goo into Wayne Knight’s face, the Dilophosaurus will be spitting its toxic goo into moviegoers’ faces as well.  Sharing in the surprise and panic (And blindness! Don’t forget blindness!) that will come from a 3D spitting-dinosaur’s apparently noxious projectile-spit is something that can only make this already-excellent movie even better.

Secondly, I haven’t seen Jurassic Park in years.  I was eight years-old when it was first released and I certainly haven’t watched it all the way through in at least a decade.  Not by choice, mind you, but I just haven’t happened upon it outside the realm of television.  When I see my favorite (or just generally awesome ) movies on TV (and I have seen it airing on TV many, many times), I generally avoid them.  I can’t stand having the movies I enjoy edited down for time or content.  And now that I know it’s coming in super-awesome 3D format, I certainly won’t be watching it between now and April 5th (I want it to have that New Movie smell).

Third (and finally)–I’m actually not a big fan of 3D movies.  At.  All.  I think I’ve seen three movies in 3D–ever, and that was because the small town theater showing the films was only hosting 3D screenings (except for The Hobbit, which I saw in both 2D and 3D, as we were all obliged to do by having beating hearts and living brains).  If you ask me on any day besides April 5th, I’ll still tell you that 3D is nothing more than an excuse to charge more for an already overpriced movie ticket.  Why, then, am I so excited about this release?  Because dinosaurs.

While these are just my personal biggies, there are plenty of other reasons to go see the Jurassic Park 3D re-release (try, as many reasons as there are dinosaurs in the movie, plus Jeff Goldblum).  My Countdown to April 5, 2013 starts now…

Image from Jurassic Park (1993)

One thought on “JP3D!

  1. Pingback: Jurassic Park 3D Review…a little behind schedule | Nerd Out With Me

Leave a Reply

